Tinder vs Bumble vs Hinge is the most-asked dating app comparison of 2026 — and the honest answer is that they optimize for different things: reach, etiquette, and intentionality. We compared all three on verified facts only, and added our own app for transparency where it fits.

Full disclosure: LoverSpot is our app. Every fact on this page was verified against official sources (each app's own site, official App Store listings) in August 2026 — nothing here is estimated, and anything we could not verify is marked "Not confirmed". Judge for yourself.

Tinder vs Bumble vs Hinge: the verified comparison

FeatureTinderBumbleHingeLoverSpot
Free tierYes — 'Send Likes, match, and chat at your own pace' (official App Store description); app free to downloadYes — 'Bumble is free' (official description); matching and chat includedYes — 'The app is free to use' (official App Store description)Yes — Free tier at $0: 'Unlimited matching and messaging', Opening Moves, in-app date booking with curated venues, photo verification, in-app video calls, post-date safety check-in; 'Free is always free' (loverspot.app)
Paid tiersTinder Plus, Tinder Gold, Tinder Platinum (official: tinder.com/feature/subscription-tiers); prices not shown on official page — nullBumble Boost, Bumble Premium, Premium+ (official App Store description); prices not verified on an official page — nullHinge+ and HingeX (official App Store description); prices not verified on an official page — nullPlus (from $9.99/mo US pricing), Gold ($19.99/mo), Premium ($29.99/mo) — annual options listed; verified on loverspot.app/premium
Photo/profile verificationExists — official description: 'We include multiple ways to verify profiles'; selfie Photo Verification badge; mandatory-vs-optional status not stated on a verifiable official page (not mandatory per available officia…Exists — ID verification, optional but promoted: 'Get ID Verified early-on (like the majority of our community)' (official description)Exists — 'Selfie Verification makes it easier for daters on Hinge to ensure that they are who they say they are' (official description); mandatory-vs-optional not stated — unverifiedYes, mandatory at signup — 'Every profile is photo-verified at signup — a quick selfie matched against your profile photos'; failed checks never appear in the feed (loverspot.app)
Video call before meetingNot confirmedYes — 'chat and video options make it easier to progress your connection, without ever leaving the app' (official description)Not confirmedYes — in-app video call before meeting, both people opt in, 15-minute default, no phone numbers shared; included in the Free tier (loverspot.app/how-it-works)
Date planning / venue bookingNo venue booking. Related features per official description: 'Double Date' (match together with a friend) and 'Let a friend know when you're meeting someone'No venue booking. 'Share Date' lets you drop date location details to friends (safety feature, official description)No venue booking. Post-date feedback exists: 'After exchanging phone numbers with a Match, we'll follow up to hear how your date went' (official description)Yes — core feature: in-app date proposal and booking at curated venues; 'Smart venue match... In 84 cities' (loverspot.app). Note: the same homepage also states availability in '84 countries' — the 84-cities figure re…
Matching mechanicMutual-opt-in matching via swiping profiles (official tiers page references 'ad-free swiping'; 'over 55 billion matches made')Swipe-based matching where women send the first message; match expires if not answered within 24 hours ('Empowering women to message first' — official description)Likes/comments on specific profile content: 'Every match begins by someone liking or commenting on a specific part of your profile' (official description)Swipe/like-based matching with reciprocity weighting and a capped daily feed, plus prompt-based Opening Moves (loverspot.app/how-it-works)
Morocco & France availabilityAvailable on both the Moroccan and French Apple App Store storefronts (iTunes API, Aug 2026); FR listing localized in French. No ranking data verifiedAvailable on both the Moroccan and French Apple App Store storefronts (iTunes API, Aug 2026); FR listing localized in French. No ranking data verifiedAvailable on the French App Store (localized listing). NOT available on the Moroccan Apple App Store storefront (iTunes lookup returned no result for Morocco, Aug 2026)Site claims 'live in 84 countries' and lists French localization (loverspot.app/fr); Morocco referenced only via travel-mode example ('Marrakech'). Country-level availability not independently verified — treat as unve…

Strengths, honestly

Tinder: honest strength

Largest reach/scale of any dating app — Tinder's own site cites 'over 55 billion matches made'

Bumble: honest strength

Women-first design — women message first, with built-in safety tooling (Share Date, Snooze Mode, Safety Center)

Hinge: honest strength

Prompt-based profiles built for conversation and getting offline — 'designed to be deleted' (hinge.co); highest-rated of the Match Group trio on the US App Store (4.4/5, 1.1M ratings)

LoverSpot: honest strength

Closes the match-to-date gap: venue suggestion, time proposal, and booking handled in-app, with verified profiles and a pre-date video call (loverspot.app)

So which one?

Tinder wins on sheer volume of people. Bumble wins if the women-first messaging dynamic matters to you. Hinge wins on profile depth and serious intent — where it's available (it is not listed on the Moroccan App Store). And if your measure of success is sitting across the table from a verified, real person — that's the one job LoverSpot was built for.

Last updated: August 13, 2026.

Try LoverSpot free — photo-verified profiles, a video call before you meet, and the date booked in-app.